

Constitution of the Pattaya City Expats Club

Preamble

In order to have more precise and coherent governing documents, we the Governing Board of the Pattaya City Expats Club, do adopt this Constitution, its Bylaws and appended guidelines to replace fully the Governing Documents established on 13 July, 2003, and revised on 24 April, 2005. The adoption of these Governing Documents is by an affirmative vote on 20 May, 2007, of Roger Fox, Michel de Goumois, Cliff Hagerman, Andre Machielsen, Lawrence McLoughlin, David Meador, Max Rommel, Harry Sigworth, Richard Smith, Darrel Vaught and Steve Watt.

Name

The name of the Club is the Pattaya City Expats Club, hereinafter called the Club. The name Pattaya City Expats Club is exclusive to this Club and may not be used by any other individual or organization for any purpose without the written approval of the Pattaya City Expats Club Governing Board.

Object of the Club

The object of the Club is to facilitate contacts and the exchange of information between members of the expatriate community in the area of Pattaya with a view to assist them in staying legally in Thailand, in enhancing their quality of life here and in developing a better understanding of Thailand and its people. The Club will be operated on a non profit basis as a service to its membership.

Membership

Membership in the Club is open to anyone who is staying legally in Thailand and is interested in participating in the Club meetings and activities. Members are expected to meet in a spirit of good fellowship, conduct themselves in a polite and courteous manner and avoid involving the Club in personal disputes. The procedure for becoming a member is outlined in the Bylaws.

Governing Board

The Governing Board, hereinafter called the Board, determines the policies and administers the affairs of the Club. The Board has all the powers required for the good governance of the Club. The Board can establish bylaws and take appropriate action to ensure their observance. The Board is bound by the principles contained in this Constitution.

The Board shall consist of a minimum of five¹ and a maximum of nine² Club members who are elected to serve two year terms. The procedures for electing the members of the Board, the rules governing the functioning of the Board, the election of officials of the Club within the Board such as the Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary, the definition of their responsibilities, as well as the filling of vacancies which may occur are outlined in the Bylaws.

Meetings of the Club

The Club meets weekly. Its meetings are public, open to members and visitors alike. The first meeting held in the month of July is an Annual General Meeting whose primary purpose is the filling of vacancies on the Board. At this meeting, the Governing Board presents a general report on the activities of the Club and the Board for the past year, including an overview of the current membership and a summary of the Treasurer's report on the finances of the Club. The procedure for appointing or electing members of the Board is outlined in the Bylaws.

Constitution and Bylaws of the Club

/**n** /

The Constitution and Bylaws of the Club may be amended by a two thirds majority of the full Board at a regular or special meeting convened in accordance with the procedures established in the Bylaws. The Board of governors shall be the final arbiter of the meaning of the Bylaws of the Club.

/**n**/

AGREED TO THIS 20TH DAY OF MAY, 2007

/3/	/3/
Andre Machielsen, Chairman	Max Rommel, Co-Chair and Treasurer
/S/	/ S /
David Meador, Secretary	Roger Fox, Board Member
/S/	/ S /
Michel de Goumois, Board Member	Cliff Hagerman, Board Member
/S/	/ S /
Lawrence Mcloughlin, Board Member	Harry Sigworth, Board Member
/S/	/ S /
Richard Smith, Board Member	Darrel Vaught, Board Member
/S/	

Steve Watt, Board Member

¹ Changed from "nine" to "seven" by a unanimous vote of the Governing Board on 6 July 2014 which had seven of the nine Board members present and changed from "seven" to "five" by a unanimous vote of the Governing Board on 10 March 2021 which had six of the seven Board Members present.

² Changed from "eleven" to "nine" by a unanimous vote of the Governing Board on 10 March 2021 which had six of the seven Board Members present.